Conference Like a Mom: Getting the Most Out of Academic Conferences

In honor of the upcoming National Women’s Studies Association Conference this week in Puerto Rico, I’m reposting one of my most popular pieces from the blog.

MITAcoach

Every conference is an opportunity to make connections with other scholars and talk to an informed audience about your work. Here are some of my top tips for getting the most out of academic conferences.

• First, take time to think through which conferences are worth your time and energy. Most of us don’t have unlimited conference travel funds. When you add in the costs of extra childcare and the time it takes to craft a good conference paper, it only makes sense to carefully choose where to present your work. For me, with the ages of my children and my regional university’s limited professional development funds, I usually only attend two conferences a year. I’ve found attending of a broad international conference related to one of my disciplines, like the National Women’s Studies Association Conference and a smaller specialized conference, like the Caribbean Studies Association Conference useful…

View original post 742 more words

Leave a Reply

